ATHE 2022

Northwestern is heading to Detroit for the Association for Theatre in Higher Education’s annual conference! If you’re planning to attend, be sure to visit our book exhibit to say hello! Virtual attendees may scroll down to browse new books, review submission guidelines, and get in touch.  

Enjoy a 30% discount on any book purchased from our website! Enter promo code ATHE30 at checkout to redeem this offer.*

*Promotion ends on August 8, 2022 at 12:00 AM Central. There is a limit of ten books per customer.

Book Signing: Makeshift Chicago Stages

Drop by the Northwestern University Press book exhibit on Friday, July 29, 2022 at 2:00 PM Eastern to celebrate Makeshift Chicago Stages: A Century of Theater and Performance! Editors Megan E. Geigner, Stuart J. Hecht, and Jasmine Jamillah Mahmoud will sign copies and discuss the book.

New and Notable

Back Stages

Shannon Jackson

Queer Velocities

Jennifer Eun-Jung Row

Subjects of Affection

Anna Rosensweig

Brutal Beauty

Jisha Menon

Senegalese Stagecraft

Brian Valente-Quinn

Playing Real

Lindsay Brandon Hunter

Sistuhs in the Struggle

La Donna Forsgren

Privileged Spectatorship

Dani Snyder-Young

Sweet Tea

E. Patrick Johnson, Jane M. Saks

Underground, Monroe, and The Mamalogues

Lisa B. Thompson, E. Patrick Johnson

Theater Games for Rehearsal

Viola Spolin, Carol Bleackley Sills, Rob Reiner

The Lone Actor

Viola Spolin, Paul Sills

Smart People

Lydia R. Diamond

Stick Fly

Lydia R. Diamond


Mary Zimmerman

Treasure Island

Mary Zimmerman

Makeshift Chicago Stages

Megan E. Geigner, Stuart J. Hecht, Jasmine Jamillah Mahmoud, Rosemarie K. Bank, Aymar Jean Christian, Shannon Epplett, Cat Gleason, Aaron Krall, LaRonika Marie Thomas, Laley Lippard, Laura A. Lodewyck, Meida McNeal, Travis Stern, Irina Zadov

Tarell Alvin McCraney

Sharrell D. Luckett, David Román, Isaiah Matthew Wooden, Bryant Keith Alexander, Robert O'Hara, Katherine Nigh, Carlos Murillo, Jeffrey Q. McCune, Patrick Maley, Tina Landau, Omi Osun Joni L. Jones, Freda Scott Giles, Donette Francis, Shirley Jo Finney, Oskar Eustis, I. Augustus Durham, Trip Cullman, Soyica Diggs Colbert, Teo Castellanos, Cheryl Lynn Bruce, Michael Boyd, GerShun Avilez, Alana Arenas, Jabari Ali, Tea Alagic, Tarell Alvin McCraney

Get in Touch

Review proposal submission guidelines.

Contact Faith Wilson Stein, Senior Acquisitions Editor.

Request an exam copy.

Request a desk copy.

Request a review copy.

Learn more about upcoming publications, events, and news from Northwestern University Press.